Preloader Background Image - Skygarden at 20 Fenchurch St.

  • SELF-ISOLATION SANITY #6

THE RHUBARB WAY OF BRIGHTENING YOUR DAY

Week 6 is for book worms, sweet tooth bakers and creative tips 🙂

RECIPE: GREEK YOGHURT & LEMON CAKE

INGREDIENTS:

125g Greek yoghurt

250g sugar

3 large eggs

375g plain flour

10g baking powder

Pinch of salt

grated zest from 1 medium-size lemon

20g lemon juice 

125g sunflower oil

For the syrup

70g water

70g lemon juice

60g caster sugar

For the icing

40g lemon juice

180g icing sugar

Instructions

  1. 1. Preheat the oven to 160C. Spray a loaf tin with baking spray, rub inside surface of pan with a paper towel to cover evenly with the spray. Line bottom of pan with parchment paper and spray parchment paper lightly. Set aside.
  2. 2. In a large bowl, combine the yogurt, sugar, and eggs – stirring until well blended.
  3. 3. Add the flour, baking powder, salt and zest, mixing to just combine.
  4. 4. Add the oil and lemon juice stir well until smooth.
  5. 5. Pour the batter into prepared pan, and bake at 160°C for 40- 50 minutes.
  6. 6. Boil all the syrup ingredients together and set aside until needed.
  7. 7. Whilst the cake is baking make your syrup by boiling the syrup ingredients together and set aside until needed.
  8. 8. When the cake is ready remove from the oven and gently removing from the tin, and place onto a cooling wire.
  9. 9. After 5 minutes, pierce with holes all over the cake to allow the syrup to enter as you slowly pour lemon syrup. 
  10. 10. To make your icing sieve the icing sugar, add the lemon juice and whisk until combined, bring to a boil, then cool a little. Then pour over the icing (this should be 5 mins after the syrup). 

WATCH!

The TV shows we are all talking about at rhubarb:

1. Unorthodox (Netflix): A powerful 4 part drama as a women flees an arrange marriage in Brooklyn for a new life.

2. Normal People (BBC): Sally Rooney’s book Normal People as a TV series. Described by the Economist as ‘a faithful, careful adaption of Sally Rooney’s Novel’.

3. The Taco Chronicles (Netflix): The food-focused series we are loving. Travel outside your lounges and into Mexico’s cocinas.

READ

Three books from the bookworms at rhubarb this week.

Where the Crawdads Sing (Delia Owens): Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Amercian Dirt (Jeanine Cummins): A book that has been the subject of controversy and criticism since 2019. The book tells the fictional story of a Mexican mother and son’s journey to the border after a cartel murders the rest of their family. On January 21, Oprah Winfrey announced the novel as her latest Oprah’s Book Club pick, tweeting: “From the first sentence, I was IN”. Read it for yourself and join the debate.

Daisy Jones and The Six (Taylor Jenkins Reid): The making of 1970s music (fictional) legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.

DO GOOD

Do good, donate, and get back in the kitchen with a stack of new recipes! We came across this instagram account this week, simply donate to a food bank charity of your choice in exchange for access to the digital books of 200+ chefs, artists and designers. Beautifully designed and filled with fabulous food, this is a feel-good way to receive your inspo.

QUARANTINE COOKBOOK

LOOKING FOR MORE

Our instagram is updated throughout the week with more of our favourite things to explore, view and do. Take a look...

INSTA-WORTHY RHUBARB